Transforming Health Care Through Evidence and Collaboration
Transforming Health Care Through Evidence and Collaboration

NIHCM Foundation Digital Media Award

 digitalmedia image

The NIHCM Foundation Health Care Digital Media Award recognizes excellence in digital media that improves understanding of health care topics through analysis grounded in empirical evidence. The four-year-old award carries a $10,000 prize and is judged by an independent panel of experts:

  • Julia Belluz,
  • Christopher J. Conover, retired health policy faculty, Duke University
  • Austin Frakt, Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Matthew Holt, The Health Care Blog
  • Megan McArdle, Bloomberg View
  • Michael Millenson, Health Quality Advisors LLC
  • Alan Murray, Time Inc. Brands, Meredith Corporation & Fortune
  • Meredith White, formerly Newsweek, ABC News and San Francisco Chronicle

View Past Digital Media Award Winners View the 2018 Finalists

Digital Media Award News


Congratulations to the 2018 Digital Media Award winner: Kaiser Health News!


View All the Winners

4th Annual Digital Media Award Process



A $10,000 prize will be presented to the winner at a banquet in Washington, DC on June 5, 2018.


  • Entries must originally have been published in 2017.
  • Entry is limited to digital content produced specifically for an online audience, which may include video, graphics and/or multimedia.
  • Entries should not be largely the same as stories that ran in print publications or that were broadcast on television or radio.
  • Entries must examine issues related to health or the health care system.
  • Entries that express policy preferences will be considered only if supported with citation of empirical evidence.
  • Entries will be accepted from news sites, independent blogs, blogs or verticals associated with newspapers or journals, and blogs associated with universities or other organizations.


  • Deadline: February 16, 2018
  • Entry is free
  • Limit two entries per entrant
  • An entry can be a series of posts as long as the posts are
    • linked by topic
    • produced by the same author or by a collaborative team of authors
  • Each entry should include no more than four posts, which may be a sample of a more extensive published series. The judges may review additional posts at their discretion.

Frequently Asked Questions

Selection Criteria

  • Influential in terms of 1.) sparking policy change, 2.) broadly informing the public, and/or 3.) stimulating conversation on timely issues
  • Effective use of the unique powers and attributes of digital media
  • Logical, clear and insightful analysis
  • Uses credible evidence to substantiate ideas


  • Julia Belluz, Senior Health Correspondent,
  • Christopher J. Conover, Retired health policy faculty, Duke University; contributor, The Apothecary, Forbes
  • Austin Frakt, Health Economist, Department of Veterans Affairs and Boston University; Visiting Associate Professor, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health; Fellow, Mossavar-Rahmani Center for Business & Government, Harvard Kennedy School; Adjunct Senior Fellow, The Leonard Davis Institute, University of Pennsylvania; Editor-in-Chief, The Incidental Economist; regular contributor, The Upshot, The New York Times
  • Matthew Holt, Co-Chairman, Health 2.0; Founder, The Health Care Blog
  • Megan McArdle, Columnist, Bloomberg View
  • Michael Millenson, President, Health Quality Advisors LLC; Adjunct Associate Professor of Medicine, Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University; contributor, Forbes & The Health Care Blog
  • Alan Murray, Chief Content Officer, Time Inc. Brands, Meredith Corporation; President, Fortune
  • Meredith White Former Senior Editor, Newsweek; Former Senior Producer and Executive Producer, ABC News; Former Deputy Managing Editor, San Francisco Chronicle.