Transforming Health Care Through Evidence and Collaboration
Transforming Health Care Through Evidence and Collaboration

Announcing the Winners of the 25th Annual Print Journalism Awards

Washington, DC – March 29, 2019 – NIHCM Foundation is pleased to announce the winners of the 25th Annual Print Journalism Awards. Additional winners from other categories will be announced on a rolling basis.

Established in 1993, the NIHCM Print Journalism Awards recognize excellence in health care reporting and writing on the financing and delivery of health care and health care policy. The winning entries were chosen by an independent panel of highly esteemed journalists.

"The competition for our print journalism awards this year was among the most intense we've seen in our 25-year history, and we commend the winners and all the finalists for their powerful reporting," said NIHCM CEO Nancy Chockley.

General Circulation Print Journalism Award

dispatch updateMarty Schladen, Catherine Candisky, Lucas Sullivan, Darrel Rowland and Rachel Kilroy, “Side Effects,” The Columbus Dispatch, Landing Page, 3/13/2018, 3/25/2018, 4/15/2018, 5/20/2018, 6/3/2018, 6/17/2018, 6/24/2018, 8/14/2018, 12/23/2018

These stories shed light on the abuses of some pharmacy benefit managers (PBMs) within the U.S. health care system and revealed the role of PBMs in rising drug prices and closures of independent pharmacies. Following this investigation, the state of Ohio revamped Medicaid contracts with PBMs to emphasize transparency and accountability and to eliminate excessive profits flowing to PBMs. The judges were impressed by the scope and depth of this year-long investigation from a regional newspaper and praised the quality of the reporting as well as the clear impact in Ohio and beyond.

Trade Journalism Award

science updatedJon Cohen, Jennifer Couzin-Frankel, “The Sunshine State's Dark Cloud,” Science

This article is part of a package called “Far From Over” and highlights how Florida's fractured health care system is a significant barrier to the delivery of HIV/AIDS prevention and treatment services—and to the state’s efforts to end its epidemic. The judges were struck by the new insights generated by this story and the original approach to examining a longstanding public health issue.

See the Finalists

The winners and finalists will be honored at a banquet in Washington, D.C. in May, and the winners will each receive a $15,000 - $20,000 cash prize.


Kaitlin Smith
Communications Officer 
NIHCM Foundation
email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
(202) 296-4426
Twitter facebook logo @NIHCMfoundation